Standing Committee Operation and Procedures

The status and responsibilities of the Standing Committees are outlined in By-Laws 37-40. Appointments of members (including that of the committee chairperson) are for one year and are made by the President during the annual meetings. Each committee is authorized an expenditure of up to a stated maximum each year for travel and other expenses of operation. Committees often fulfill their assignments purely by electronic means but may find it necessary to hold in person meetings.

The President and the Chief Executive Officer are ex-officio members of all Standing Committees. The Treasurer is an ex-officio member of the Administration & Finance Committee.

Each Standing Committee also has five Directors as members, plus one or more Vice Directors and a Vice President.

Members of the Executive Committee may serve on a standing committee.

The Standing Committees are:

- Administration & Finance Committee
- Programs & Services Committee
- Emergency Communications and Field Services Committee

In addition, By-Law 42 creates the following committee consisting only of three Directors:

• Ethics & Elections Committee